Backwoodsok

» Support TQJ

User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Online Users: 26

5 members and 21 guests
Most users ever online was 459, 11-07-2010 at 10:58 PM.

» Stats

Members: 3,109
Threads: 14,363
Top Poster: PigCicles (10,055)
Welcome to our newest member, Mienshao
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Will this work??

Hi everybody, I'm very new at this low and slow and have been doing a lot of reading to learn. Please move this post if it's in the wrong place.
    If a brisket is moved from an indirect griller to a 175 degree oven after the internal temp. is over 140 degrees, how long in the oven is needed? A 12 pound packer brisket is used.
    I'm asking this question because due to being limited to a 22" kettle indirect grilling is as close to low and slow as I can do. I did a packer this way at 250-300 degrees, meat on the grill for two hours, then into a pan for 3 1/2 hours with mop sauce. At internal termp. of 185 put brisket in pan with all juices into a cooler with blankets to rest for 3 hours. The brisket was tender and tasty-won't be messing with tri tip for awhile.
    Will the 175 degree oven finish the brisket properly for slicing? All advise and suggestions are appreciated. Parts for a reverse flow cooker are being collected. Thanks in advance for all help.

The oven will work fine, but the 175 temp will hold you back. You will never be able to get your meat past that temp. I would set the oven up to the usual 225 or higher. How long will depend on the meat and the temp being cooked at.

I would take the brisket to at least 185 to 190 internal temp in the flat. Some will take them higher and that is fine too.

There are lots of opinions on brisket and how they should be done so stand by for more words of wisdom.
    Plank Owner ..................
    I didn't fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian!