» Support TQJ

User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Online Users: 47

0 members and 47 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 2,553, 02-17-2020 at 12:48 PM.

» Stats

Members: 969
Threads: 14,365
Top Poster: PigCicles (10,055)
Welcome to our newest member, SmokyOkie
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default first project and yess its gonna be a reverse flow!

hi everyone I'm new to the pit building world and just finished my fire box its 48"X24". Yes its big but going to use it on a 250 gallon propane tank. Let me know what everyone thinks about it I'm a little concerned about the size of the size of the airflow, I hope its big enough.
    Attached Images

Not sure if it's too little...I don't have any experience with big pits like that. It looks like it will be very nice!
    Stop in to C'mon in and sit down to introduce yourself.
    Glad to have you here!
    ~Brian~
    BBQ Jones comp team
    KCBS Member
    KCBS CBJ

IMO...WAY to big.
    Cut it in half and you'll need twice the intake for a 250 gallon smoker.
    Rubbed, Smoked and Sauced BBQ Team sponsored by Barsleaks/Rislone
    Authorized Backwoods dealer.
    B.O.D. GLBBQA
    Pitmaster - Lockharts BBQ of Royal Oak
    Owner-Great Lakes BBQ Supply Co.

I don't know what the actual temp is, but it cooks the way I want it to, so I don't guess it really matters.

Howdy, Matt! Welcome! Stop by the Come In & Sit Down forum and tell us a bit about yourself and your other equipment.

I don't have experience with big pits, especially building one, so I can't help. But I'm looking forward to seeing everything come together.
    Rob - TX Sandman
    Plank Owner, TQJ

the only guy I know with a 250 gallon has a 30 x 30 square firebox but its older and not reverse fllow

I'm with Bubba - WAY too big.
    From a CD I have on building smokers -