» Support TQJ

User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Online Users: 49

0 members and 49 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 2,553, 02-17-2020 at 12:48 PM.

» Stats

Members: 969
Threads: 14,365
Top Poster: PigCicles (10,055)
Welcome to our newest member, SmokyOkie

Default TEST-KitchenAid Stand Mixer as Meat Mixer

I posed a question asking if a stand mixer, specifically my new KA Pro 600, would make an efficient meat mixer. The replies were less than favorable, for a number of unfounded and untested reasons. So I decided to take my chances with 10 lbs of pork butt and 1 lb of cheese and try it myself.
    I made cheddar brats, and will post my results here.
    I am including 2 videos as well as a couple of pics. This is my first time uploading videos, so be nice to me, as I'm no pro.

Here's what I had after grinding about a 10 1/2 lb pork butt.

As a side note, if any of you have seen and questioned these EZ grind attachments, my review goes like this: Absolutely awesome, well worth the 50 bucks. With my little Dewalt drill, it takes about 3 minutes to grind 10 lbs, and the drill never slows down. The grinder is a 20 dollar #10 cheapo Chinese Walmart job.

Here I start with my ground butt and added spices, no water in this test. Wanted to see how it would do dry. After grinding, this weighed at 10 lbs exactly. After about 40 secs the seasoning seemed fairly well incorporated.

This is after adding 1 lb of cheese. This is too much for the 6 qt capacity of this bowl, but all in all it turned out pretty well.

Here is the pork after mixing with the KA. Looks pretty decent.

First run in natural casing. Notice how I tie the ends. If you don't over stuff, you can twist off your links afterwords. Natural casings are pretty forgiving. I wouldn't attempt this with collagen.