PDA

View Full Version : Preparing Salmon for Hot Smoking

the_selling_blues_man
05-27-2009, 09:04 PM
I am new to smoking salmon (although I have grilled salmon a number of times). I have only smoked one large fillet (still some of the best salmon I have had). I would like to hear how you prepare the salmon for smoking. Brine, seasoning rub, ect.....

Thanks

JamesB
05-27-2009, 09:12 PM
Cardogs Salmon... Simply the best!
Here is a link from the last time I did up a salmon fillet. I indirect grilled this one, but the recipe works for hot smoked, grilled or even baked...

http://www.theqjoint.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3077&highlight=salmon

"Official Cardogs BBQ Salmon"
Dry Rub
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 cup non-iodized table salt
3 TBSP granulated garlic powder
3 TBSP granulated onion
1 TBSP dried dill weed
1 TBSP dried savory
2 tsp dried tarragon
Mix all ingredients thoroughly. Turbinado sugar may be substituted for brown sugar. To substitute garlic salt and onion salt, reduce table salt to 1/2 cup and double garlic salt and onion salt to 6 TBSP.
Finishing Rub
1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 TBSP granulated garlic powder
1 TBSP granulated onion
1 tsp dried savory
1 tsp dried tarragon
Mix all ingredients thoroughly. Turbinado sugar may be substituted for brown sugar.
Buy a fresh, 3-pound salmon fillet, preferably Sockeye or King. Remove the pin bones using tweezers or needle nose pliers. Do not remove the skin. Place skin-side down in a glass or stainless steel pan.
Pack the dry rub on the flesh side of the fillet, approximately 1/4" thick. Let the fillet rest in the refrigerator for 2 to 3 hours (the longer you leave the rub on, the stronger the salt flavor). Rinse the fillet in cool, clean water to remove the dry rub, then pat dry. Allow to dry for about 30 minutes, until the flesh becomes tacky.