PDA

View Full Version : Black walnut

matt4467
05-21-2009, 09:27 PM
Hey dont know if this is the right spot to post this but is black walnut a good wood to smoke with?

BA_LoKo
05-21-2009, 09:32 PM
Matt, while I haven't used black walnut, I do know that it is a hard wood. With that in mind, I'm sure it would work great. It's going to be slow burning and provide many BTU's, which is what you want. I would expect the flavor to be nice, too.

If I had it available here, I'd be looking forward to smoking with it!

matt4467
05-21-2009, 09:36 PM
well im gpoing to go cut up a whole tree of it that fell over when hurricane Ike came through i was reading you had to mix it with other woods. i was just wondering if anyone else has used it and was it worth me going and getting it.

BA_LoKo
05-21-2009, 09:38 PM
Good idea. I'll be anxious to hear other people respond. My comments are based on the fact that it is a hardwood. I have NO experience with it.

BA_LoKo
05-21-2009, 09:39 PM
Did the people that responded indicate why you had to mix it with other wood? Was the flavor overpowering?

californiasmokin
05-21-2009, 10:37 PM
Matt, one of our other members posted this .Hope it helps.

Walnut is on the bottom.

http://72.167.135.4/forum/showthread.php?t=1360&highlight=Hard+woods

BA_LoKo
05-21-2009, 10:47 PM
Great find, Paul. I thought to search for that, but you got it covered!

cabinetmaker
05-22-2009, 07:48 AM
I've never used it to smoke and probably never will, but I do use a lot of it in the old cabinetshoppe. The saw and sanding dust is very bitter tasting. Walnut has the most tannins of about any wood (tannins are what makes coffe black). When you cut the tree down, chew on a few of the saw chips and decide whether you would want your food to taste like it. My choice would be no!

Joneser
05-22-2009, 07:57 AM
That's some pretty good insight from a guy who works so much with wood!

Chargrilled
05-22-2009, 08:14 AM