PDA

View Full Version : first project and yess its gonna be a reverse flow!

matt4467
02-27-2009, 07:22 AM
hi everyone I'm new to the pit building world and just finished my fire box its 48"X24". Yes its big but going to use it on a 250 gallon propane tank. Let me know what everyone thinks about it I'm a little concerned about the size of the size of the airflow, I hope its big enough.

Joneser
02-27-2009, 08:03 AM
Not sure if it's too little...I don't have any experience with big pits like that. It looks like it will be very nice!
Stop in to C'mon in and sit down to introduce yourself.
Glad to have you here!

Bbq Bubba
02-27-2009, 08:23 AM
IMO...WAY to big.
Cut it in half and you'll need twice the intake for a 250 gallon smoker.

TX Sandman
02-27-2009, 09:20 AM
Howdy, Matt! Welcome! Stop by the Come In & Sit Down forum and tell us a bit about yourself and your other equipment.

I don't have experience with big pits, especially building one, so I can't help. But I'm looking forward to seeing everything come together.

Lefty
02-27-2009, 09:58 AM
the only guy I know with a 250 gallon has a 30 x 30 square firebox but its older and not reverse fllow

peculiarmike
02-27-2009, 11:40 AM
I'm with Bubba - WAY too big.
From a CD I have on building smokers -

Large fireboxes have much more surface area than smaller fireboxes, so they dissipate more heat to the surrounding atmosphere than does a smaller firebox. (Heat which does not contribute to the actual cooking of the meat is simply wasted heat, which equals wasted wood.) After many trials and errors, it was discovered that a firebox only needs to be 16 inches tall and 16 inches wide, with lengths ranging from 18 to 24 inches.

The above firebox will handle your 250 gal. tank with no problem. I made mine 16" square by 21" deep. The other consideration is -