PDA

View Full Version : injecting a turkey

rwc565
10-02-2008, 12:12 PM
My family has asked me to smoke a couple of turkeys for Thanksgiving. I have never done a turkey before, so if you'll bear with me I have a couple (or eleven) questions. After reading all the posts I could find about turkeys I have come to this conclusion. Evryone does it different. I also concluded that I dont need to brine the turkey.But it did seem universal that everyone injected. I may have to do a practice turkey soon.

question 1. What do I inject with?Anyone have a good recipe or storebought brand that you would recommend?

#2. How do you inject? do I need to inject in different areas?

#3. How long do I need to wait after injecting before I can start cooking?

SmokyOkie
10-02-2008, 01:51 PM
Run some honey, butter,garlic and olive oil in the blender and inject it.

Also, try whisking together some honey, soft nutter, fresh rosemary, thyme and sage into a paste. slowly work your hand up between the skin and the meat. If you're careful, you can actually loosen the skin all the way arounf the bird, legs, thighs and all. Then smear all the honey/butter/herb paste all over the meat under the skin.

How long you let the marinade sit before cooking is up to you. The longer it sits, theoretically, the better it distributes.

You can also cure a turkey using tenderquick and sugar and then injecting it. You can add a little liquid smoke in the inject as well, then smoke the bird.

You'll get something that resembles sweet ham if you do that.

Jake
10-02-2008, 02:16 PM