PDA

View Full Version : Making the Grade with Judges

peculiarmike
09-11-2008, 02:09 AM
I like what I cook, and I cook what I like. And that is what counts. It's taken since 1975 to get here. And I get a lot of compliments. And I'm still learning, you can never stop. So I figure I'm doing OK.
As for judging. It is BLIND judging, no way to know what belongs to who. It's a damn shame you ol' boys don't get certified and do some so things would improve. Otherwise, there's just me and some others out there.
I read a huge whine on the BBQ Brethren site about how bad the judges are, it's probably still going. Several folks whined about the fact they turned in the best they had ever cooked and it got LOW marks. Know what I told them??? Guess what? If that was the best you ever cooked you have a LOT to learn and the marks you got directly reflect that. Apparently, it wasn't all that good. Hard to swallow, but it's the truth.
I judge and a large percentage of what is turned in is not the best. A small percentage is very good and meets KCBS criteria. Those are the folks who win. And they do it at different locations with different judges, consistently. Because they know what they are doing.
And, apparently, so do the judges.
:twocents:

Fatback Joe
09-11-2008, 07:38 AM
As for judging. It is BLIND judging, no way to know what belongs to who. It's a damn shame you ol' boys don't get certified and do some so things would improve. Otherwise, there's just me and some others out there.
I read a huge whine on the BBQ Brethren site about how bad the judges are, it's probably still going. Several folks whined about the fact they turned in the best they had ever cooked and it got LOW marks. Know what I told them??? Guess what? If that was the best you ever cooked you have a LOT to learn and the marks you got directly reflect that. Apparently, it wasn't all that good. Hard to swallow, but it's the truth.